Still Sounds Like The Flirtations (Rsd24)

The Flirtations

Vinyl LP

Original price was: £26.00.Current price is: £18.00.

Limited to 1000 copies for RSD 2024.

The Flirtations are poised to release ‘Still Sounds Like the Flirtations’ – their first album of new material in 55 years. They are best known for their 1969 signature song, “Nothing But A Heartache”, off their debut album ‘Sounds Like the Flirtations’. That song spent 14 weeks on Billboard’s Hot 100, and its success saw the group tour with Stevie Wonder, Tom Jones, The Four Tops and The Temptations. “Nothing But a Heartache” remains an undeniable Northern Soul classic; it has been streamed over 13 million times, and in 2022 was remixed by Tobtok and Oliver Nelson.

On their forthcoming album, which was produced, engineered, mixed, and co-written by Ben Rice (Joan Osborne, Valerie June), Earnestine Pearce, Shirley Pearce, and Viola Billups aka Pearly Gates tell the stories of their lives. Drawing inspiration from the churn of personal, social, and political situations that they have lived through over the past five decades, they capture a timeless and well-earned perspective on love and life.

The record, which features the Dap King horns, contains standout tracks, including the reflective call to action “Memories”, co-written by Stevie Wonder; the hopeful love song “Ain’t No Easy Way” and the instant dance floor hit “Didn’t Anybody Tell You”, both co-written by Grammy-nominated songwriter Gian Stone (John Legend, Meghan Trainor); the uplifting groover “Love Somebody”; and the roaring “Take It Back”, co-written by Dave Sherman (Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds, Elle King). The recording process was a transatlantic adventure, with sessions at Abbey Road and Resident Studios in London, Degraw Sound in Brooklyn, and Creative Workshop in Nashville.

Retaining the classic soul sound and melodic harmonies The Flirtations are known for, the album will not disappoint long-time fans, while also promising to bring their authentic, inimitable sound to a new generation of music.

Track List:

01. Love Somebody
02. Didn’t Anybody Tell You
03. Ain’t No Easy Way
04. Memories
05. You Don’t Live Here Anymore
06. (Keep Chasing) Blue Skies
07. Take It Back
08. No One Does It Like You
09. Life Is Like A Mountain
10. Thought I Knew You

This title will be available in store on Saturday 20th April from 8am, with any remaining stock being made available online at 8pm on Monday 22nd April.

All Record Store Day titles are limited to one copy per person / address.

Original price was: £26.00.Current price is: £18.00.

In stock

-1 LP

Delivery to the UK only - Dispatched within 48 hours

Cheap postage on CDs / DVDs / 7” singles

Collection available from Frome Shop

Additional information