Blow Your Mind


byWilko Johnson

Wilko Johnson’s new album Blow Your Mind is the first solo material from the former Dr Feelgood guitarist since his 2013 collaborations with Roger Daltry.  It is, in his own words, “the album I never thought I’d get to write” having been diagnosed with terminal pancreatic cancer in 2012, a disease he has gone on to beat into submission.

Although there are songs obviously written from this time, with death seeming to hang in the air in places, the album is also resoundingly hopeful and full of joy – peppered at times with humor and self-deprecation.

The album features Norman Watt Roy on bass and Dylan Howe on drums, and is produced by Dave Eringa.

Stand out track: ‘Marijuana’